more from
Melting Records

Hip Society

by Hipcut

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €2 EUR  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Hip Society via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    edition of 500 
    Purchasable with gift card

      €16 EUR or more 




Released by Melting Records

Hip Society is the fantastic new album from Hipcut, the Crete-based notorious crate-digger. The young Greek beat-maker — also a member of the audio/visual duo Monisme — has self-released a handful of well-received cuts via Bandcamp and now joins the Melting Records family with his latest work. Hip Society features 10 tracks (with 3 bonus instrumentals) combining flavors of jazzy downtempo, boom-bap breaks, spacey trip hop, and ‘90s Wu-style hip-hop. It’s an audio treasure trove of moods and motion.

Hip Society gives Hipcut an opportunity to combine his multi-layered soundscapes with talented vocalists. American rapper Awon (Don’t Sleep Records) displays his deep verbal skills on the exceptional cuts “Red Eyed” and “Torn.” Renowned Greek soul-singer Sugahspank sprinkles her moving vocal magic all over “Precision”. “No Time” features newcomer Vikkie dropping her smooth flow in a delicious old school style. The collaborations go beyond vocals, as “Sounds In The Night” includes def-defying scratch antics from Athens-based turntablist DJ Moya.

Hip Society is a sonic film noir, complete with torch songs and moods for smokey cafés. The beats swing and the arrangements are cinematic, evoking dark blues and covert activities. “Chase” is like an updated soundtrack to a detective caper from the ‘30s, and “Sentimental Serenade” could accompany a sultry, grainy black-and-white encounter in the rain. Hipcut delivers the goods, and Hip Society is a sublime mystery waiting to be solved through the speakers.


released March 17, 2019

All Tracks Produced, Arranged and Mixed by Hipcut

Track A2 & A4 recorded @ Jazzkatz Studio Brooklyn, NY USA
Track A5 scratch by DJ Moya
Track B3 scratch by Scrape
Track B1 additional editing and mixing by Thanos Amorginos @ Downstroke Studio, Athens, Greece
Track B1 & B3 recorded @ LoKaLL Studio, Athens, Greece

Cover desing by Anna Ryba

Artist would like to give a special thanks to : Basilis Foteinos, Andreas Pallidis, Koralia Palieraki, Giorgos Potirakis, Aristotelis Telis

Mastered by Blanka at Kasablanka Studio

Artwork Design by Manolis Chalkiadakis

Executive Producers : Basilis Foteinos, Andreas Pallidis

Melting Records © 2019

Contact us: info[at]


all rights reserved



Hipcut Greece

contact / help

Contact Hipcut

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

If you like Hipcut, you may also like: